Three High School Seniors Awarded McClain Scholarship

Monday, May 07, 2012

For the fourth consecutive year, three West Virginia high school seniors have been named as recipients of Fairmont State University’s premier academic scholarship, the Charles J. McClain Presidential Scholarship.

The following students have been selected as scholarship winners:

  • Rebecca Goydel, the daughter of Debra Meurer and the late Steven Goydel, is a student at Wheeling Park High School in Ohio County. She plans to major in Chemistry at FSU.
  • Kelley Humphreys, the daughter of Ricky and Rebecca Humphreys, is a student at North Marion High School in Marion County. She plans to major in Pre-Pharmacy at FSU.
  • Dakota Moore, the son of John and Cynthia Moore, is a student at Ravenswood High School in Jackson County. He plans to major in National Security and Intelligence at FSU.

Students from 11 counties in West Virginia were selected as finalists for FSU’s most prestigious scholarship.

“Fairmont State University offers many opportunities for high-achieving students, including our three scholarship winners. I look forward to welcoming them to our campus community,” said Dr. Maria Rose, FSU President. “At FSU, we take seriously our commitment to give our students exactly what they need to be successful in our changing global economy. Fairmont State University is a place where teaching and learning matter and every student can ‘be First.’ By ‘be First,’ we mean FSU provides students with chances to create their own ‘firsts’ based on their personal goals. All students should have the chance to expand their horizons.”

The competitive scholarship covers tuition and fees, room and board and a $1,000 textbook stipend. This is the fourth year that the scholarship has been offered. The three scholarship winners will be honored at various FSU Academic Awards Celebrations. The high school of each of the winners will be presented with a plaque featuring their student during the school’s spring awards assembly.

The McClain Scholars will receive priority registration for Orientation and will be extended an offer for membership in the Honors program. FSU’s Honors program provides a place for students to increase their ability to think critically and to communicate effectively, as well as travel in the U.S. and abroad.

“We were pleased with the response to this opportunity and the academic quality of all the scholarship applicants,” said Lori Schoonmaker, Interim Associate Director of Recruiting. “We would like to offer thanks to all who participated in the process.”

To qualify, students must be current high school seniors who live in West Virginia, have a cumulative high school GPA of 3.5, and an ACT composite of 26 or SAT composite of 1190. They must also be PROMISE Scholarship recipients.

Charles J. McClain Scholars were chosen based on their academic qualifications, community service activities, leadership involvement, a 450-word essay, admissions counselor recommendation and personal interview. Students who receive the Scholarship must maintain a 3.0 or higher cumulative GPA and must maintain their PROMISE Scholarship eligibility. FSU awards are renewable for three years.

For more information, call (800) 641-5678 or (304) 367-4892.