Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
FSU Faculty Member First Runner-Up for 2011 Professor of the Year Award Impact
Fairmont State News

FSU Faculty Member First Runner-Up for 2011 Professor of the Year Award

Dec 13, 2011

The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia has named Dr. Gregory P. Noone of Fairmont State University as first runner-up for the 2011 Professor of the Year award. Each year the Foundation honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university.

"Fairmont State University is incredibly proud that Gregory Noone was selected as first runner-up for West Virginia's 2011 Professor of the Year," said FSU Interim President Maria Rose. "It is an honor to have a Fairmont State faculty member selected from such a distinguished pool of nominees. Dr. Noone is very deserving of this honor because of his outstanding mentoring of students, his exemplary teaching and his dedication to excellence at FSU."

At an awards ceremony and reception in Charleston in March 2012, it was announced that Dr. Marcello R. Napolitano, a mechanical and aerospace engineering professor at the Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources at West Virginia University was named 2011 Professor of the Year.

Other finalists were Yi Charlie Chen, Ph.D., biology professor, Alderson-Broaddus College; Laura H. Clayton, Ph.D., RN, CNE, nursing education professor, Shepherd University; and Phil O. McClung, Ph.D., social sciences professor, West Virginia University at Parkersburg.

 “It is an honor to call Gregory Noone a colleague,” said Dr. Christina Lavorata, FSU Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. “He inspires students to be their absolute best not only by what he says, but by what he models: extraordinary effort and excellence in everything he does. He is a gifted lecturer, a responsible and dynamic faculty member and an asset to our institution and profession.”



At FSU, Noone serves as Assistant Professor of Political Science and Law and Director of the National Security and Intelligence Program.

"I'm honored to have been nominated by Dr. Rose," Noone said. "Her ongoing support with the National Security and Intelligence program, the political science program and even club sports and the rugby team has been wonderful. She's done a great job."

Dr. Greg Noone is a Captain in the U.S. Naval Reserve and is the Commanding Officer of the Defense Institute of International Legal Studies reserve unit and the former Commanding Officer of the Navy JAG International and Operational Law reserve unit. He has been mobilized to become the Staff Judge Advocate for the Department of Defense’s Office for the Administrative Review of the Detention of Enemy Combatants (OARDEC) at the U.S. Naval Base Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.

Noone is also a member of the Public International Law and Policy Group, which was nominated for the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize, and worked for the U.S. Institute of Peace (USIP), an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created by the U.S. Congress to promote research, education and training on the prevention, management and peaceful resolution of international conflicts. While at USIP, Noone received a Special Act Award for his work in Afghanistan. 

Noone previously served as a judge advocate in the U.S. Navy. He held various positions in the Navy including the Head of the International Law Branch and the Foreign Military Rights Affairs Branch in the Navy Judge Advocate General’s (JAG) International and Operational Law Division at the Pentagon.

He also served at the Defense Institute of International Legal Studies (DIILS) where he trained senior military, governmental and non-governmental civilian personnel in over 35 countries (and has traveled to 75 countries total).  Most notably, he has trained members of the Iraqi National Congress, the post-genocide government in Rwanda, the post-Taliban government in Afghanistan, civil society in the Sudan and senior members of the Russian government. 

Noone was also an instructor at the Naval Justice School in Newport Rhode Island; an overseas Staff Judge Advocate in Souda Bay, Crete, Greece; and served at the Naval Legal Service Office in Norfolk, Va., as a government prosecutor and a criminal defense counsel where he was involved in over 200 court-martials.

He is a Brockton, Mass., native who received a B.A. in Political Science from Villanova University, an M.A. in International Affairs from The Catholic University of America, a Masters in Defence Studies (MDS) from the Royal Military College of Canada, a J.D. from Suffolk University Law School and a Ph.D. in Political Science (International Relations) from West Virginia University.

Noone is a graduate of the Canadian Forces College’s Joint Reserve Command and Staff Programme (JRCSP 12 / JPME 1). He has published and presented articles on the Rwandan Genocide, Transnational Corruption, the International Criminal Court and Military Tribunals at numerous forums. Noone appears regularly as a commentator on international and national TV and radio.

Noone’s wife, Dr. Diana Noone, is the Chair of Social Sciences, an Associate Professor of Criminal Justice and member of the graduate faculty at FSU.

The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia was created in 1984 to provide a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities. Through the Professor of the Year program, the outstanding achievements of those individuals are brought to the attention of the general public. A $10,000 cash award is given to the candidate selected to receive the Professor of the Year award, which is presented with financial support from United Bank.

FSU has had two previous Professor of the Year award winners: Dr. Gregory T. Hinton in 1997 and Dr. Judy P. Byers in 2002.

College of Liberal Artspolitical scienceMaria RoseGregory HintonNational Security and Intelligence ProgramGregory P. NooneJudy P. ByersFaculty Merit Foundation of West VirginiaProfessor of the Year