Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
American Institute of Architects Honors Four Architecture Students Impact
Fairmont State News

American Institute of Architects Honors Four Architecture Students

Dec 15, 2010

The West Virginia chapter of the American Institute of Architects honored four Fairmont State University students as part of its 2010 design competition awards.

The design committee, formed of architects from across the state, recognized and commended the body of work represented by all submissions.

Steven Whitmore, a senior from Oak Hill was honored with a $1,500 scholarship as winner of the Jeffrey Mayfield Design Award for his entry in the Kawneer “School of Tomorrow” student design competition. Mary Rogers, a senior from Fairmont, was recognized with an Honorable Mention.  

Jeff Barr, a junior from Clarksburg, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship as the winner of the West Virginia Society of Architects Student Design Competition for his concept for a Prototype Library of the Future. Adam Clark of Wheeling was recognized with an Honorable Mention for his library project entry.

The Architecture program at FSU is a pre-professional program that focuses on history, design theory, building systems and graphic/oral communication skills required to present design ideas to others. The program is designed as a two plus two curriculum consisting of a two-year A.S. in Architectural Engineering Technology and a four-year B.S. of Architecture. For more information about studying Architecture at FSU, visit or e-mail Philip Freeman at