Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Fairmont State University Students Elected to Student Government Association Impact
Fairmont State News

Fairmont State University Students Elected to Student Government Association

May 11, 2021

Members of the Fairmont State University student body have elected a group of their fellow Falcons to Student Government Association leadership positions for the upcoming year.  

Those individuals chosen to represent their peers are Zach Taylor, SGA President, Isaac Leech, SGA Vice President, Mackenzie Sorton, SGA Secretary and Clay Burrows, SGA Treasurer. The newly elected officers were officially sworn in to their positions during a virtual ceremony last month.  

Taylor, who served as the SGA faculty senate representative throughout the 2020-21 academic year and helped to establish the inaugural Christmas with a Falcon Program, said he intends to maintain community service as a pillar of his leadership philosophy.  

“I want to foster a productive relationship between administration, faculty and students,” said Taylor. “I also want to impact the community through public service and make sure every person in SGA is engaged in the community and on campus at all times, and for everyone to know that SGA is an organization they can come to with anything they need.”  

Leech, who served on the House of Representatives last year, is looking forward to being a voice for his classmates.  

“I’m honored to have the confidence and support of so many of my peers,” he said. “I plan to work with the various organizations around campus to achieve the goals my team and I have set out for the upcoming academic year.”  

Sorton, who previously acted as an SGA athletics liaison, said she wants to use her leadership role to create and foster an inclusive and welcoming campus environment.  

“Being elected secretary means being able to continue to be a part of the Falcon Family in a greater leadership role,” said Sorton. “I want to make sure everyone feels welcome and part of the Falcon Family and help to create and promote a greater community on campus.” 

Burrows, a former sophomore senator, is excited to get to work bringing SGA’s vision to fruition.  

“I’ve been a part of SGA for two years now, so I was really excited to have an opportunity to step into a leadership role,” said Burrows. “Having the support of my fellow running mates and my peers propelling me across the finish line was really nice and it’s my hope to deliver everything I’ve promised.” 

In addition to the election of executive officers, Maiya Bennett was chosen to be the Board of Governors student representative, Logan Cottrell and Avary King were elected to the House of Representatives and Natalie Teter and Trey Jones were selected as Sophomore Senators.  

“We are proud to welcome this exceptional group of leaders to represent our students for the upcoming academic year,” said Mirta M. Martin, Fairmont State University President. “They are eager to make an impact, and I am confident they will serve our Falcon Family well.”

The remaining vacant SGA positions will be filled during the fall 2021 semester. Students can submit their interest in SGA membership to For more information, follow the Fairmont State University Student Government Association on Facebook (@FairmontStateUniversitySGA) and Instagram (@fairmontstatesga) or go to

Mirta MartinStudent Government AssociationSGAZach TaylorIsaac LeechMackenzie SortonClay BurrowsMaiya BennettLogan Cottrell Avary KingNatalie TeterTrey Jones