Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Fairmont State University faculty and student to receive arts awards Impact
Fairmont State News

Fairmont State University faculty and student to receive arts awards

Apr 04, 2019

On Sunday, April 7, Fairmont’s Arts and Humanities Commission will present its annual awards to local individuals who have shown sustained achievement in the arts, to the educators and other mentors who inspire those efforts and to talented high school and Fairmont State University students.

Four of this year’s awards will go to Fairmont State faculty members, ceramicist Jeff Greenham, visual artist Jennifer Boggess, musical director Elizabeth Wotring-Nelson and patron of the arts Marian Hollinger. Also, Fairmont State senior music student, Aaron Sine, will receive the annual Marian Satterfield Award. The other awardees are Fairmont Senior High School (FSHS) band leader John Schneider, blues musician Dennis McClung and three local high students, Maleri Tustin (FSHS), Franchesca Aloi (North marion High School), and Ivey McMullen (FSHS). 

In addition to receiving the awards, several recipients will exhibit their work or perform for the audience. The event is free, open to all, and refreshments will be served. The event begins at 2:00, April 7, at Central Christian Church, 1640 Big Tree Drive. 

Finally, the Commissioners want to express their continuing gratitude to Fairmont City Council for 34 years of underwriting these awards and other A&H projects. Fairmont is the only city in WV to provide such sustained recognition of local arts and humanities.

School of Fine ArtsJeff GreenhamJennifer BoggessElizabeth Wotring-NelsonMarian HollingerAaron Sine