Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Dr. Greg Noone Named 2012 Professor of the Year Impact
Fairmont State News

Dr. Greg Noone Named 2012 Professor of the Year

Mar 13, 2013

Charleston, W.Va. – The Faculty Merit Foundation announced the winner of its 2012 Professor of the Year award on Tuesday, March 12. The Foundation presented the award to Gregory P. Noone, Ph.D., J.D., assistant professor of political science and law at Fairmont State University, during a banquet held in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston on Tuesday evening. Kenneth H. Yount, Ph.D., a political science and history professor at Alderson-Broaddus College, was first runner-up. Daniel Holbrook, Ph.D., associate professor of history at Marshall University; Gregory Juckett, M.D., M/P.H., professor of family medicine and WVU Health Service physician at West Virginia University; and Bryan Raudenbush, Ph.D., psychology professor at Wheeling Jesuit University, also received prizes as finalists for the award.

Professor Noone has been the director of the National Security and Intelligence Program at Fairmont State University since 2007. He received a Ph.D. in Political Science/International Relations from West Virginia University; a J.D. from Suffolk University Law School; a master’s in Defense Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada; a M.A. in International Affairs from the Catholic University of America; and a B.A. in political science from Villanova University. Professor Noone was the Faculty Merit Foundation’s 2011 Professor of the Year runner-up. He was the Dr. Alan Hammock Fellow at West Virginia University, and has received multiple Navy and Army Commendation medals and the U.S. Department of Defense’s Meritorious Service Medal, among others. In 2012, he was the Fairmont Times West Virginian Educator of the Year.

According to Fairmont State University President Dr. Maria Rose,“Dr. Noone initiated the process to establish the National Security and Intelligence program, as well as the invaluable practical experience that students would gain from such a program. Through Dr. Noone’s encouragement, this program was established and an Open Source Information Exchange (OSIX) lab was developed in conjunction with the major.”

The OSIX lab has provided Fairmont State University students with the opportunity to assist the United States government intelligence community with actionable intelligence information. “It was only through Dr. Noone’s foresight that such an innovative program was established,” observes President Rose.

In addition to his invaluable addition of the OSIX, Professor Noone has served as a positive role model and influence, encouraging many students to attend graduate school to pursue a degree in law. He works with the Fairmont State University Honors Program and provides support for the Honors residential learning community.

Dr. Christina Lavorata, Fairmont State’s provost and vice-president of academic affairs, notes that, “There seems to be no limit to Greg’s energy, willing involvement, expertise, spirit of cooperation, or forward thinking.” She went on to say that she is “honored to call him a colleague, and proud to speak of him as a most deserving recipient of the Faculty Merit Foundation’s Professor of the Year. He serves his students, his family, and his nation with intelligence and dignity. He is an outstanding human being and sets a standard of excellence all of us should follow.”

“His research, professional training and real world experiences have prepared him to be an outstanding, creative and innovative instructor,” asserts Dr. Deanna Shields, the Dean of Liberal Arts.

Robert Bolton, a former student of Noone’s writes, “I honestly believe that were it not for Dr. Noone, I would not have graduated from Fairmont State University summa cum laude, nor would I have attended a school as respectable as Wake Forest University School of Law to pursue my Juris Doctor.”

The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia each year honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. The award winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, with smaller awards to the other finalists. The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.

Gregory P. NooneProfessor of the YearChristina LavorataFaculty Merit Foundation of West VirginiaMaria Rose