Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Strawderman Named Classifed Employee of the Year Impact
Fairmont State News

Strawderman Named Classifed Employee of the Year

Dec 03, 2008

Sherrie Strawderman, Executive Secretary to the President of Fairmont State University, has been named the 2008 Classified Employee of the Year for Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College.

Strawderman was honored with the award during the annual Classified Staff Luncheon on Nov. 5 in the Turley Center Ballroom. Strawderman started her career at Fairmont State in 1987. Many departments on campus provided gifts for the award winner.

Other nominees for the award were Maria Marshall, Human Resources Representative, Senior; Becky Miller, Administrative Assistant with the Procurement Office; Sharon Montgomery, Administrative Secretary, Senior, with the FSU School of Business; James Oerly, Supervisor of Campus Services with the Physical Plant; Joyce Rose, Administrative Assistant for the Information Technology Department; Annette Schorr, Administrative Associate at the Robert C. Byrd National Aerospace Education Center; Priscilla Steed, Program Assistant I for the Department of Social Science; and Janice Watts, Program Assistant II for the FSU School of Education.

FSU Interim President Charles McClain and Pierpont Community & Technical College President Blair Montgomery praised classified staff members for their hard work and dedication to serving students.

Strawderman began her career at Fairmont State in September of 1987. She floated between the Department of Language and Literature and the Department of Commerce. She also acted as a fill-in for secretaries who were absent for extended periods of time. She has also worked for the Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice President for the Community College, the Director of Small Business Development Center, the School of Business and currently is the Executive Secretary to the FSU President. Co-workers describe Strawderman as a fantastic person with a caring heart who is wonderful to offer words of encouragement. They also say she is a team player with a great sense of humor and heart of gold.

Also during the luncheon, the Office of Human Resources honored employees for their years of service to FSU and Pierpont.

Honored for 44 years of service was Ruth Smedley, Supervisor/Student Accounts. Honored for 30 years of service were Linda Bartic, Library Technical Assistant II, and Marietta Stewart, Food Service Worker. Honored for 20 years of service were Linda Abruzzino, Food Service Worker; Diane Falkenstein, Food Service Worker; and Darlene Morrison, Program Assistant II. Honored for 15 years of service was Donald Strand, Supervisor/Campus Services. Honored for 10 years of service were Arthur Adams, Campus Service Worker; Carolyn Ellis, Office Assistant; Diane Holley, Campus Service Worker; and Cynthia Smith, Financial Reporting Manager. Honored for five years of service were Anthony Beafore, Trades Specialist I, and Edward Nutter, Library Technical Assistant I.


classified staff

Pictured from left to right are 2008 Classified Employee of the Year nominees James Oerly, Sharon Montgomery, Priscilla Steed, Sherrie Strawderman, Joyce Rose, Maria Marshall, Annette Schorr, Becky Miller and Janice Watts.