Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Mitchell Is Classified Employee of the Year Impact
Fairmont State News

Mitchell Is Classified Employee of the Year

Dec 01, 2006

Dennis Mitchell, Academic Lab Manager 1 for the Technology Department, has been named 2006 Classified Employee of the Year for Fairmont State University.

Mitchell was honored with the award during the annual Classified Staff Luncheon on Nov. 16 in the Turley Center Ballroom. A May 2000 graduate of Fairmont State, Mitchell started his career at Fairmont State in February 2001. Many departments on campus provided gifts for the award winner.

"I would like to thank all the Classified Staff Council, the different departments and everyone else who helped out with their donations, time or effort to make this award happen," Mitchell said. "I was totally surprised because all the nominees were very deserving of the award. In fact, there are many FSU employees that are deserving of this award and go without recognition but continue to plug away."

Other nominees for the award were Sue Conrad, Senior Administrative Secretary in the Office of Student Affairs; Bobbi Dodd, Executive Secretary to the President of Pierpont Community & Technical College; Becky Miller, Administrative Assistant in the Procurement Office; Louella Rennie, Senior Administrative Secretary in the School of Education; Debby Rogers, Purchasing Assistant II in the School of Fine Arts; Joyce Rose, Executive Secretary in Information Technology; Harriet Snyder, Senior Administrative Secretary in the Department of Behavioral Science and Social Science; and Sheila Warnick, Program Assistant II in the Office of Public Safety.

During the luncheon, Dalene Horner read aloud information about Mitchell: "Dennis became an employee of Fairmont State based on the great experience he had with all of the people he came into contact with as a student. Everyone was friendly and eager to help and he wanted to be a part of it. He has played intramural softball, basketball and in a Texas Hold 'em tournament. Dennis has spent his own time and money working with the American Society of Civil Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers technology student clubs. He has assisted in their competitions by getting materials, services and money donated. Dennis tries to have a positive attitude, a helping hand and a smile on his face for everyone."

FSU President Dan Bradley and Pierpont Community & Technical College of FSU President Blair Montgomery praised classified staff for their hard work and dedication. Montgomery called the staff "the glue that holds the campus together." Bradley emphasized that all jobs on campus are important, and that the efforts of all classified staff members are appreciated.

Also during the luncheon, the Office of Human Resources honored employees for their years of service to Fairmont State.

Honored for 20 years of service were Susan Bailey, Administrative Secretary Senior, and William Harbarger, Campus Service Worker.

Honored for 15 years of service were Linda Clayton, Campus Service Worker Lead; Sue Conrad, Administrative Secretary Senior; Barb Phillips, Office Administrator; and Nancy Rogers, Administrative Secretary Senior.

Honored for 10 years of service were Martha Amos, Administrative Secretary; Judy Biafore, Administrative Assistant; Stephanie Bragg, Records Officer; Jolie Carpenter, Accounting Assistant II; Miwa Edwards, Program Coordinator; Kevin Neely, Campus Service Worker; Rodger Pettit, Information Systems Specialist; Sherry Sanford, Campus Service Worker; Kenneth Whetsell, Interim Landscape Worker; and Carolyn Wycoff, Library Technical Assistant I.

Honored for five years of service were Carol Downs, Food Service Assistant I; Suzanne Gripper, Program Coordinator; Antoinette Hines, Financial Aid Counselor; Rita Ice, Food Service Worker; Nancy Keller, Interim Administrative Associate; Connie Knotts, Food Service Worker; Rosetta Kolar, Program Assistant II; Rob Lemon, Food Service Worker; Sarah McLaughlin, Program Assistant I; Viki McVaney, Program Assistant II; Sharon Montgomery, Library Technical Assistant I; Patty Murray-Fidura, Accounting Assistant II; James Oerly, Trades Specialist Lead I; Sandra Petry, Child Care Associate; Paulette Phillis, LPN; Joyce Riffle, Database Technician II; Joyce Rose, Executive Secretary; Dennis Serian, Campus Service Worker; and Sandra Wilson, Purchasing Assistant I.