Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer
Orchestra Concert Features Saxophonist David Wright Impact
Fairmont State News

Orchestra Concert Features Saxophonist David Wright

Nov 02, 2004

The Fairmont University Community Symphony Orchestra will present a free concert in Colebank Hall at 3 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 7.

The orchestra, conducted by John Ashton, will open the program with the rarely performed "Sinfonietta" of Sergei Prokofieff. The work is early Prokofieff, full of his typical youthful enthusiasm and charm. The orchestra will also play Felix Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 3, the "Scotch" symphony. The work was first mentioned in a letter to his family by the 20-year-old composer when he was about to begin a walking tour of Scotland, but it was not completed for another 13 years, in January of 1842. When Mendelssohn gave the first London performance in June of that year it was so successful that he asked the young Queen Victoria if he might dedicate it to her. There is little direct connection between Scotland and the symphony that Mendelssohn ever revealed, but the work has long been regarded as one of his most successful.

The afternoon's soloist will be saxophonist David Wright, who will play the Saxophone Concerto of Erland von Koch. Wright is currently assistant professor of music at West Virginia Wesleyan College and has performed both classical and jazz saxophone throughout the United States, Honduras, Finland, Estonia, Peru and Russia. He has recently returned from a concert tour of the Far East including Japan and China.

Following the concert, a reception will be offered by the Friends of the Symphony to allow the audience to meet the soloist.

For more information, call (304) 367-4219.