Students Honored at Juried Art Exhibition

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

 The Art Department of the Fairmont State University School of Fine Arts held the opening reception for its annual Juried Student Exhibition on Tuesday, April 12. The juror, from Honeyoi, N.Y., was artist James Johnson.

Awards were presented during the evening reception. Winners were honorable mention, Josh Cook of Bridgeport, painting, and Samara Saunders of Independence, ceramics; Greg Swiger of Lumberport, first place, two-dimensional art, painting; D. Jane Gilchrist of Weston, first place, three-dimensional art, ceramics; School of Fine Arts Dean’s Award, Travis Pudder of Farmington, painting; Fairmont State University President’s Award, Zack Nestor of Morgantown, ceramics.

This year, for the first time, the Timothy Clayton Memorial Award, which is now in its fifth year, had two winners: second place, Tyler Bray of Farmington, three-dimensional painting; and first place, Greg Swiger, traditional painting.