Students Can Participate in Juried Art Exhibition

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

The Student Juried Exhibition takes place at the end of each academic year. Its purpose is to provide an opportunity for students to compete by participating in a juried show, something which as artists they will continue doing for the rest of their lives.  

All Fairmont State and Pierpont students are eligible to submit work for consideration. Students should bring their work to the Brooks Gallery on April 11 and 12 between 11 a.m. and 4 p.m. Submission forms will be available. The deadline for submission is 4 p.m. Thursday, April 12, in Brooks Gallery. Students can find submission guidelines online in the Fine Arts Tatler blog at this link.

An opening reception for the 2012 Juried Student Exhibition is planned from 7 to 9 p.m. Tuesday, April 17, in the Brooks Gallery, which is located on the fourth floor of Wallman Hall on the shared main campus of Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College.

Awards to students will be announced at the opening reception.  The exhibition of student work will be on display through April 27. Regular gallery hours are Mondays through Fridays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.  For special viewing arrangements, call or e-mail Curator Marian J. Hollinger at (304) 367-4300 or Admission to the opening reception and exhibition are free and open to the public.

Students submit from their own works whatever they would like to be considered, and the juror selects from all submitted works which ones to include in the exhibition.  The juror will select a certain few works for awards or honorable mention.

The show will be juried by Ryan Ward, an adjunct faculty member at Marywood University in Scranton, Pa.  Ward was the co-founder and manager of Test Pattern Art Space from 2004 to 2007.  He received his B.F.A. in studio art from Marywood University in 2006.  He also studied painting at the SACI Program in Florence, Italy.

Among the awards to be presented at the opening reception will be the Timothy Clayton Memorial Award, which was established in 2006 in memory of “TJ” Clayton, a student in the Fairmont State Art program who was killed in an automobile accident in 2005. Also among the awards will be the FSU President’s Award, selected by FSU Interim President Maria Rose, and the School of Fine Arts Dean’s Award, selected by Dean Peter Lach.