Student Government FAQ

What does Student Government do?

Article I of the Student Government Constitution and By-Laws states:

The purpose of this organization shall be to regulate all matters pertaining to the student life of its members which do not fall under jurisdiction of the faculty and administration; to promote general activities and develop a true college spirit; to train its members in the principles and practices of democracy; to constitute a medium for expressing the opinion of the student on matters of general interest and to strengthen the cordial relations existing between the faculty and the students.

How often, when, and where does Student Government meet?

SGA meets every Thursday from 12:30-1:30pm in 128 Hardway. Special meetings may be called by the President.

How do I join Student Government?

In order to join Student Government, members are elected and in some cases appointed. To be eligible, students must be fulltime and possess a cumulative 2.75 GPA. Elections are held in the Spring Semester, with a following Fall Semester election to fill vacant spots and Freshman Senator Positions.  For more information about upcoming elections and vacant positions please attend a meeting (every Thursday at 12:30-1:30 in Hardway Hall room 128) or contact the Advisor. Please look for Election packets posted as a link on the Homepage.

Who are the Executive Officers and how do I become one?

The Executive Officers of Student Government consist of the Student Body President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Executive Officers must be fulltime students and hold a minimum cumulative 2.75 GPA. Officers must not be candidates for Winter Graduation, student teaching, or in a practicum or internship that prevents them from fulfilling their duties during their time in office. Executive Officers must have served at least one full term in Student Government and attended no less than 50% of regularly scheduled meetings. Lastly, Officers must have completed no less than two fulltime semesters as a student of Fairmont State University or Pierpont Community and Technical College.

What are the responsibilities of a Student Government member?

The responsibilities of a Student Government member depend on the position in which that member holds. However, most members are responsible for but not limited to the following:

  • Attend regularly scheduled meetings and Fall and Spring Retreats
  • Discuss, recommend, and vote on student and institutional issues and policies
  • Serve on assigned Student Government and campus committees
  • Volunteer for Student Government activities
  • Work in the Student Government Office for one hour per week
  • Other duties as assigned to position per Student Government Constitution and By-Law

What are the campus committees and governing bodies Student Government members serve?

  • Judicial Board
  • Faculty Senate of Fairmont State University
  • Bookstore Advisory Council
  • Civic Engagement Advisory Board
  • Board of Governors of Fairmont State University
  • Statewide Advisory Council
  • Campus Facilities Committee

What are the Student Government Committees?

Standing Committees consist of the Finance Committee, Student Activities Committee, and Community Service Committee. The Finance Committee reviews Student Organization requests for portions of the student activity monies and proposes a recommendation to approve, deny, or limit requests to the body of Student Government, which ultimately decides the allocation. Student Activites and Community Service committees develop engaging activities and participate in campus wide or City of Fairmont events for the benefit of students and the community. Ad hoc committees may be established at the will of the Student Body President such as the Homecoming Committee.

Where is the Student Government Office?

The Student Government Office is the last room in the second floor of the Falcon Center. Office hours are 9am-3pm.