Professional Development Schools combine the best teaching practices with the best of professional development to enhance learning opportunities for children. In essence, PDS is a collaboration of public schools and the university partnering in an effort to “grow” together.  The focus of the PDS partnership is improved student performance through research-based teaching and learning.

Currently, Fairmont State University works collaboratively with 40 schools in six counties.  The counties and schools are as follows, each county heading is a link to the county's website with information about each of the schools.

Marion County

Barnes Learning Center
Barrackville Elementary/Middle
Blackshere Elementary
East Dale Elementary
East Fairmont High
East Fairmont Middle
East Park Elementary
Fairmont Senior
Fairview Elementary
Jayenne Elementary
Mannington Middle
Monongah Elementary
Monongah Middle
North Marion High
Pleasant Valley Elementary
West Fairmont Middle
White Hall Elementary

Monongalia County

Cheat Lake Elementary
Mountaineer Middle
Ridgedale Elementary


Harrison County

Big Elm Elementary
Bridgeport High
Liberty High
Lincoln High
Lumberport Elementary
Mountaineer Middle
Norwood Elementary
Nutter Fort Primary
Nutter Fort Intermediate
Simpson Elementary
South Harrison High
Robert C. Byrd High
Washington Irving Middle

Preston County

Bruceton School
West Preston Middle

Taylor County

Taylor County Middle