President Dr. Mirta Martin

Board of Governors Chairwoman honored by Marion County Chamber of Commerce

Thursday, August 08, 2019

Fairmont State University Board of Governors Chairwoman Dixie Yann was awarded the Rev. Squires Lifetime Achievement Award at the 66th Annual Marion County Chamber of Commerce Dinner. 

This achievement is the highest award the Chamber gives, Chamber President Tina Shaw said. Rev. Squires was the leader in giving back to the community and those presented with this award working to carry on that legacy. 

Fairmont State Foundation surpasses campaign goal and welcomes new board members

Thursday, July 25, 2019

Five new board members will take their seats on the Fairmont State Foundation Board of Directors, capping a milestone year that included finishing more than $700,000 over goal in The Every Gift Matters – Scholarship Campaign.

Fairmont State welcomes two newly appointed members to the Board of Governors

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Governor Jim Justice has appointed two new members to the Fairmont State University Board of Governors—Wendy Glover Adkins and David Goldberg. Additionally, current Board member, Jay Puccio, was reappointed.

Marion County Commission invests $250,000 in aviation program

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

The Marion County Commission and Fairmont State University signed a Memorandum of Understanding for a $250,000 investment in the University’s Aviation Administration—Professional Flight Program. 

With this investment, Fairmont State will purchase an aircraft, flight simulator, and increase capacity in order to provide up to 10 Marion County students an increased opportunity to enroll in the Professional Flight Program. 

Fairmont State works to make West Virginia a destination of choice

Thursday, July 11, 2019

Fairmont State University’s President Dr. Mirta Martin embarked on a statewide tour to speak on how community and business partnerships can help continue making West Virginia a destination of choice.

Fairmont State participates in United Way's Day of Action

Monday, July 01, 2019

Giving back to the community is important for Fairmont State University and was represented as employees volunteered during the 2nd Annual Day of Action with the United Way of Marion and Taylor Counties. 

Day of Action is a national initiative to encourage communities to “Live United” through service. Executive Director Brett White said this is an extremely important day for the nonprofit agencies. 

Art professor paints portrait of “lost history”—first female president in higher ed

Thursday, June 20, 2019

During Spring Commencement, Fairmont State University unveiled the portrait of Margaret Elizabeth Dickey, a pioneering Fairmont State president and the first female president of a state school in the history of the state of West Virginia and in the U.S. 

Joel Dugan, associate professor of art, was commissioned to paint the portrait based on a photo from what was the Normal School’s yearbook. While challenging, Dugan said it was a great experience. 

Fairmont State to offer Cybersecurity emphasis with Master program

Thursday, June 13, 2019

Fairmont State University will begin offering an emphasis in Cybersecurity for the Master of Business Administration program in the fall. 

The program will prepare early careerists and seasoned managers for cybersecurity leadership roles in the public or private sector, Marcus Fisher, assistant professor of Information Systems Management, said. 

Spring 2019 president's and dean's list announced

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

More than 1,100 students have been honored for their academic achievement at Fairmont State University after completing the spring 2019 semester.

School of Nursing ranked No. 1 nursing school in the state by

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Fairmont State University has been ranked No. 1 in West Virginia in the 4th Annual Nursing School rankings by is a team of nurse educators, nurse practitioners, RNs and LPNs who work to provide the information they wished to have when they started their nursing careers including credible nursing school rankings. 

Subscribe to RSS - President Dr. Mirta Martin