About Us

Hardway Hall

Fairmont State University is a comprehensive, student-centered, state-supported institution offering dozens of certificate and degree programs at the associate, bachelor, and master levels via 41-degree programs and over 90 fields of study.

Fairmont State sits on a charming hilltop campus in Fairmont, West Virginia, a small, friendly city surrounded by nature. Around here, winding, clear rivers cut through the green hills and mountains of Appalachia, giving our campus community unrivaled access to the outdoors. Biking, hiking, camping, rafting, climbing, skiing – this region has it all. But that easy access to outdoor adventure is just icing on the educational cake.

Fairmont State turns opportunity, passion, and hard work into excellence in a vibrant, close-knit campus community where students and teachers become friends for life.

Here, students enjoy the opportunities offered by a comprehensive state university combined with the personal attention and campus atmosphere they’d expect from a small, private school.

Being the “biggest” or “most exclusive” school has never been our goal. We just want to be the school that prepares hard-working, passionate students for a lifetime of success.

Fairmont is known as “The Friendly City.” Spend a little time here and you’ll understand why – the smiles you’ll see on campus are reflections of the geniality of the community that surrounds us.

The University is only an hour and a half drive from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, a three-hour drive from Columbus, Ohio, and we’re three and a half hours from Washington DC. We’re also close to dozens of cultural and historic areas and state parks.