School of Business Honors Students for Academic Accomplishments

Wednesday, June 06, 2012

On Friday, April 27, the Fairmont State University School of Business held its annual Awards Ceremony to honor students and their accomplishments. The event also included the Delta Mu Delta induction ceremony.

“The School of Business strives to prepare students to meet the challenges of today’s marketplace, marked with accelerating change, increasing international interdependence, and a greater reliance on both technology and human skill to solve world problems,” said Rick Harvey, School of Business Dean.  “I was pleased to have the opportunity to share the evening with our students, and to recognize how their achievements and successes thus far reflect their drive and ambition, dedication to their studies, commitment to attaining their lifelong goals, and devotion to their dreams for a better tomorrow.”  

Scholarship winners included: Nathan Beck, James Cooke, Beth Daugherty, Faith Dixon, Anthony
Domico, Anthony Errigo, Chad G. Frasher, Sydni Hiroskey, Nolan Merrifield, Leighla Philpott, Goldie Preston, Joseph Rocchino, Nicolette Rueger, Casey Spagnuolo, Marsha Styles, Lauren Tomko, and  Jessica Walter.  

Awards were also presented to: Samantha Frye, Outstanding Senior in Accounting; Courtney Jones, Outstanding Senior in Business; and James Merrill, Outstanding Senior in Information Systems Management.

In addition to presenting awards, the School of Business inducted students into the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society, an international society in business administration. The society exists to encourage higher scholarship and to recognize and reward scholastic achievement in business administration programs. Inductees included: Teri Anderson, Brittany Arnold, Peggy Blosser, Abbigale Cogar, Mark Delligatti, Roland Fisher, Scott Fowler, Adrienne Hoalcraft, Marissa Johnson, Frank Keenan, Sharon Lemley, Micheala Lewis, Ronnie Lockhart, Casey Mayer, Dewey McDonald, Brittany Metheny, Rebecca Mowery, Shelby Peyatt, Emilee Riley, Patrick Snively, Bill Strauss, and Candace White.

The School of Business also honored students who participated in this year’s Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program which provides free tax preparation for members of the community. Honorees included: Harry Baxter, Robert Brandenburg, Natasha Finley, Michael Geho, Daniel Holbert, Christopher Lowdermilk, Kazuhiro Maeda and James Waters.