Two FSU Employees Participate in Leadership Marion XXXI

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Fifteen local residents, including two employees of Fairmont State University, have been selected to participate in Leadership Marion Class XXXI, the class of 2012-2013.

Leadership Marion is a program for people who are motivated by commitment, involvement, understanding and enthusiasm in an effort to foster leadership and stewardship in the community. The main theme of Leadership Marion relates to civic-oriented leadership with its overall mission of empowering others to increase their participation in the life of the community. Graduates of the program become members of a community service-oriented alumni group called Action Marion. The program is directed by Dr. G.H. “Budd” Sapp, a faculty member in the Fairmont State University School of Education.

“I remain confident that Leadership Marion continues to graduate citizens who enhance the quality of life in and around Marion County,” Sapp said.

Leadership Marion has accomplished this mission by graduating citizens from its classes annually who immediately play a role in the community as participants and leaders. Leadership Marion graduates serve the community in a variety of capacities that include but are not limited to the following: members and chairpersons of boards, participants in non-profit and other fundraising events, members of civic organizations, members of various councils and committees and more.

Additionally, each year Leadership Marion conducts an annual project that provides monetary and other support related to an identified local need. Past projects have benefitted: the Salvation Army, the Union Mission, HOPE Inc., United Way, 612 MAC, the Soup Opera, the Alzheimer’s Association, the Marion County Humane Society and Habitat for Humanity.

The following are class members of Leadership Marion XXXI: Alisa Bishop (MVB Bank), Jonathan Denham (Marion County BOE), Whitney Finch (Northrop Grumman), Ken Hacker (City of Fairmont Sanitary Sewer Board), Heather Hawkins (Salvation Army – sponsored by Gary and Linda Jack), Luke Hayes (PS Management Inc.), RJ Hovatter (Thrasher Engineering), Andrea Kirby (Fairmont Graphics – sponsored by East Fairmont Associated Businesses), Nada Kisner (First Exchange Bank), Rod Mayhew (Pierpont Community & Technical College), Kim Murphy (Fairmont State University), Clark Riley (Fairmont State University), Tammy Ross (Mon Power), Rob Shaffer (Marion County Board of Education) and Beth Ann Wilson (Fairmont Federal Credit Union).

Leadership Marion is appreciative of all the support it has received in the past and the support it continues to receive as the program successfully continues for its 31st consecutive year,” Sapp said.

For more information about becoming involved with Leadership Marion, contact Dr. G.H. “Budd” Sapp at (304) 367-4663 or


About the photo:

Each year the class members attend a weekend retreat as an introduction to the program. Seated from left to right are Luke Hayes, RJ Hovatter, Heather Hawkins, Andrea Kirby, Clark Riley, Ken Hacker, Rob Shaffer and Jonathan Denham. Standing from left to right are Whitney Finch, Alisa Bishop, Beth Ann Wilson, Kim Murphy, Rod Mayhew, Nada Kisner and Tammy Ross.