2012 Juried Student Exhibition Winners Announced

Friday, April 27, 2012

During the opening reception for the 2012 Juried Student Exhibition, the Art Department of Fairmont State University presented awards to the winning student artists. 

Winners were as follows: Merit Awards, Tyler Bray, painting, and Christopher Schultz, printmaking; Travis Pudder, third place, two-dimensional art, video; Aaron Queen, second place, two-dimensional art, painting; Erin McKown, first place, two-dimensional art, drawing; Erin McDaniel, second place, three-dimensional art, ceramics; Kass Lloyd, first place, three-dimensional art, ceramics; Emily Harki, best in show, mixed media drawing; School of Fine Arts Dean’s Award, Erin McKown, drawing; and Fairmont State University President’s Award, Travis Pudder, painting. To view examples of student art work, visit the Fine Arts Tatler blog at http://fineartsfsu.wordpress.com.  

This year’s Timothy Clayton Memorial Award, in its sixth year, was presented to Tyler Bray for painting. Each year, the award is given to the student whose work seems best to embody the spirit of the work of student T. J. Clayton, who was killed in an automobile accident in 2005.

The show was juried by Ryan Ward, an adjunct faculty member at Marywood University in Scranton, Pa.  Ward was the co-founder and manager of Test Pattern Art Space from 2004 to 2007.  He received his B.F.A. in studio art from Marywood University in 2006.  He also studied painting at the SACI Program in Florence, Italy.

The Brooks Gallery in Wallman Hall hosts exhibits throughout the year. Regular gallery hours are Mondays through Fridays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.  For special viewing arrangements, call or e-mail Curator Marian J. Hollinger at (304) 367-4300 or mhollinger@fairmontstate.edu.