Math department participates in state conference

Wednesday, April 04, 2018

Three Fairmont State University math department faculty members, along with seven Fairmont State pre-service mathematics teachers, attended the 2018 West Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics annual conference March 16-17 at the Stonewall Jackson Resort during spring break. 

Kirsten Minger, Fairmont State graduate, received the Teacher-in-Training grant designed to help those who intend to teach mathematics in West Virginia.  Kirsten graduated in December with a Math 5-Adult Education degree.

Two math faculty members presented at the conference. Stephanie Jones presented a session about “Making Student Reasoning Central to Class Discussions with Choral Counting.” Dennine LaRue presented “Inspire Instruction: An Overview of WV Geometry Standards Grades K-12.”

The seven pre-service mathematics teachers in attendance were Kaitlyn Ault, Stephanie Cottrell, Abbey Ferrari, Alex Keefover and Kingsley, Jamie Knight, Hope Vasicek, and Justin Welling. Math faculty member, Dr. Brian Blackwood, also attended.

The two-day conference focused on learning from other mathematics teachers in West Virginia about ways to improve mathematics instruction. The keynote speaker was Dr. Karin Wiburg of New Mexico State University who spoke about “Creating Success in Mathematics for All Students.”   Higher Education faculty met to discuss their role in mathematics education and teacher preparation. 

Jones and LaRue participated in a session designed to provide a “launching point” for an emerging community of mathematics teacher educators and teacher leaders to support network and collaboration through the WV Mathematics Teacher Education Partnership.

PHOTO CAPTION: Fairmont State attendees are pictured in front of the WVCTM conference banner in the Stonewall Jackson Resort lobby.  Those photographed (L to R) are Kirsten Minger, Abbey Ferrari,  Stephanie Cottrell, Justin Welling, Alex Keefover and Kingsley, Dennine LaRue, Jamie Knight, Stephanie Jones, Kaitlyn Ault. Not pictured - Dr. Brian Blackwood, Hope Vasicek.