Martin named to Blue Ribbon Commission on Four-Year Higher Education

Thursday, July 05, 2018

Fairmont State University President Dr. Mirta M. Martin has been named to the Blue Ribbon Commission on Four-Year Higher Education. On July 2, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice announced at a press conference in Charleston that he has signed an executive order creating the Blue Ribbon Commission to assess the current state of four-year higher education institutions in West Virginia.

West Virginia University President Gordon Gee, Marshall University President Jerry Gilbert, and Concord University President Kendra Boggess will lead the Commission.

Dr. Martin was among those in attendance for the announcement. “I am truly honored to have the Governor bestow upon me the privilege to serve on this transformational higher education Commission.  Fairmont State University serves a vital role in West Virginia higher education,” Martin said. “We are committed to providing affordable, accessible education to all who seek it. Serving on the Commission ensures Fairmont State has a voice for the community that relies on us to educate, advance the careers of, and employ so many West Virginians. I look forward to working with the Chairs of the Commission and other appointed colleagues to explore effective and efficient pathways to strengthen West Virginia’s higher education system.  I am also grateful to be afforded the opportunity to ensure our community’s voices and needs are recognized.”