Delta Mu Delta Chapter Installed

Friday, May 12, 2006

Kappa Omicron, a Fairmont State University chapter of the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society, was established during an installation ceremony held May 2 in the Turley Center Ballroom with Dr. Charles Fazzi, Delta Mu Delta regional representative, presiding.

Delta Mu Delta is an international society dedicated to recognizing business administration students who have distinguished themselves academically and faculty members and business leaders who have experienced measurable success in their profession. The academic standards of Delta Mu Delta reflect achievement of a distinctive order.

The following students were inducted during the ceremony: Justin Michael Ash, Eric S. Bee, Leslie Anne Bledsoe, Allison Michele Bohrer, Michael L. Clelland, Gregory Martin Cliburn, Jesse Dee Edward Cole, Lisa Diane Daniels, Tracie Savannah Duncan-Ensminger, Tara Danielle Hammond, Jeffrey L. Jacobs, Seegee Michele Kisner, Buck J. Mallow, Jill Lynn Marquez, Melissa K. Miller, Andrew Ryan Morgan, James W. Mou, Brian Michael Reider, Jonathan Wesley Ruben, Amanda Marie Stalnaker, Jonathan Patrick Stevens, Brock David Stotts, Matej Tomas, Rebecca Elizabeth Weaver, James Allen Whisner and Katie Lee Wimer.

Delta Mu Delta was founded in 1913 by five professors from Harvard, Yale and New York University who believed that exceptional students in the field of business should be given recognition similar to that by Phi Beta Kappa in the field of liberal arts. As the highest national recognition a business student can earn, Delta Mu Delta membership provides recognition for a lifetime.

Honorary members of Kappa Omicron include Dr. Dan Bradley, FSU President; Dr. Anne Patterson, FSU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Dr. Rebecca Schaupp, Dean of the School of Business; Dr. Rick Harvey, FSU Dean of Graduate Studies; Dr. Rebecca Giorcelli, faculty advisor for the Kappa Omicron chapter; and Robert Weaver, co-faculty advisor of the chapter.