CMP Students Receive Piano Honors

Tuesday, June 14, 2005

Fairmont State’s Community Music Program has announced the winners of Piano Awards for the 2005 spring semester. The awards are given to piano students who have achieved recognition as established by the Music Teachers National Association Achievement Award Program.

Students completing requirements are Neisa Fluharty, Randi Gilbert, Emily Harmon, Sara Harman and Tessa Woods.

Students chose areas in which to compete for advanced points in theory, rhythm, note reading, scale technique, sight reading, ear training, duet playing, memorization, concert attendance and performance. Students of Artist Teacher Debbie Hills were recognized at the Spring Recital Series held at the Meadowbrook Mall in April for the annual Music-O-Rama event.

For more information about Fairmont State’s Community Music Program, call (304) 366-3758.