Events

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Coal is an underlying theme in “Rocket Boys The Musical,” just as it hides underground in the hills of West Virginia. An exhibit called “Black Diamonds” on display at Wallman Hall provides context and history to the story of coal in the Mountain State.

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

The Fairmont State University Woodwind Quintet, “Cinq Nuances de Violette,” coached by Dr. Constance Edwards, will perform a recital at 3 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 23, in Wallman Hall Room 229.  

Friday, November 15, 2013

The Office of Student Activities, which serves the students of Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College, is hosting a presentation by Frank Warren of PostSecret on Tuesday, Dec. 3.

Thursday, November 14, 2013

Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College will participate in the nationally recognized International Education Week with events intended to celebrate internationalization and diversity.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Named by NBCs ProFootball Talk as “the best small collegiate band in the United States,” the Fairmont State University Marching Band will present its annual Stadium Review Concert at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 14, in Colebank Hall.

Tuesday, November 05, 2013

A ribbon cutting ceremony on Tuesday, Oct. 29, celebrated the renovation and expansion of the Starbucks located inside the Ruth Ann Musick Library on the shared main campus of Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College.

Monday, November 04, 2013

When West Virginia-born Homer Hickam stood in his backyard watching the Soviet satellite Sputnik orbit the Earth, he had no way of knowing it would lead him to a life filled with scientific discovery and artistic expression. Fans of Hickam’s work will be enchanted by the whimsical dramatization of his experiences in the Fairmont State University School of Fine Arts production of “Rocket Boys The Musical.”

Monday, October 21, 2013

Halloween events abound for Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College students and the community.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Kestrel: A Journal of Literature and Art, the Fairmont State University Department of Language and Literature and the Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center will host a two-day Celebration of Issue 30 in October.

Eight contributors to Kestrel, including six whose work appears in Issue 30, will be on campus to participate in a panel discussion and offer individual consultations for writers, as well as give readings from their own work.