Two Architecture Students Honored with Scholarships

Friday, December 16, 2011

The West Virginia chapter of the American Institute of Architects announced the winners of its annual student scholarship competition at the group’s November 2011 meeting in Charleston. Two Fairmont State University architecture students were honored to receive scholarships.

Adam Clark, a senior architecture student from Wheeling, was honored with a $1,500 scholarship as the winner of the Jeffrey Mayfield Design Award. His entry proposed a sustainable approach for an architecture school building for FSU.

Sherry Hamilton, a junior from Windsor Heights, W.Va., was awarded a $1,000 scholarship as the winner of the West Virginia Society of Architects Student Design Competition for her concept for an expedition train station in Belington. 

The design committee, formed of architects from across the state, recognized and commended the body of work represented by all submissions.