Math Faculty and Pre-Service Teachers Attend WVCTM Conference

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Four Fairmont State Math Department faculty members, along with eight FSU pre-service mathematics teachers, attended the West Virginia Council of Teachers of Mathematics Annual Conference on March 17-18 at the Stonewall Jackson Resort during spring break. The two-day conference focused on learning from other mathematics teachers in West Virginia about ways to improve mathematics instruction.

Three of the FSU math faculty members in attendance presented at the conference:

  • Stephanie Jones co-presented with Dr. Matthew Campbell a session about “Tell Us About It! Making Student Reasoning Central to Class Discussion.”   
  • Dennine LaRue presented “Logarithms – Ideas to Improve Pedagogy and Retention of Concepts.”   
  • Lindsey Walck presented “Redesigning Developmental Math and Taking it to Scale in a College Setting.”

Dr. Brian Blackwood also attended. The eight pre-service mathematics teachers in attendance were Kaitlyn Ault, Carolyn Golden-Burrows, Alex Keefover and Kingsley, Jamie Knight, Kirsten Minger, Janalee Poe, Faith Stout and Tyler Wilt,

Dennine LaRue, WVCTM College Vice President, facilitated a session for WV Higher Education Math faculty to discuss current issues in West Virginia mathematics. Topics included the MAA Common Vision and MAA recommendations for undergraduate math programs, State Math Taskforce work on course descriptions, a possible statewide partnership concerning teacher preparation, new version of the SAT test and concordance, upcoming HEPC workshop, co-requisite math classes, a discussion about online resources used with textbooks, factoring, geometry apps for tablets.

The keynote speaker was Kate Nowak from Illustrative Mathematics who spoke about “Curriculum Adoption: Advice from the Other Side.”


About the photo:

A subset of the Fairmont State group is pictured in front of the WVCTM conference banner in the Stonewall Jackson Resort lobby.  Those photographed from left to right are Faith Stout, Kaitlyn Ault, Jamie Knight, Carolyn Golden-Burrows, Alex Keefover and Kingsley, Kirsten Minger, Dennine LaRue, Lindsey Walck, Stephanie Jones and Tyler Wilt.