College of Liberal Arts Hosts Academic Awards Ceremony

Friday, July 18, 2014

The Fairmont State University College of Liberal Arts honored its high achieving students during the fourth annual Academic Awards Ceremony at the end of the spring 2014 semester.

Dr. Deanna Shields, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Christina Lavorata, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Mary Jo Thomas of the Fairmont State Foundation Inc. presented greetings and congratulations to the students for their academic achievements.

Following is a list of student award winners:

Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center

Joanna Ross –Outstanding Student Service Award

Department of Behavioral Sciences

Marie Esame – Outstanding Senior Psychology Student Award

Suzanne Hall – Outstanding Sociology Student Award

Kathy Collins – Betty Jo Wright Social Work Scholarship

Department of Language and Literature

Carolyn Nolan – Carolyn Coakley-Hicherson Memorial Scholarship

Jacob Moales – Mary Esther and Dr. Byron Jackson Scholarship

Grace Templeman – Mildred Mason Newcome Endowed Scholarship

Leah Yoho – Salvatore, Anne, Thomas, James Giovanni Peluso Scholarship

Tendai Ushendibaba – Christiane Buck Sweeney Award and Outstanding French Student

Dan Reitz – John Teahan Memorial Endowed Scholarship and Upper Division Writing Award

Rashawn Irby – Will Bridges Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Lindsay Menas – Outstanding Student in English Award

Sarah Queen – Outstanding Student in English Education Award

Bradley Riffee – Outstanding Student in Journalism Award

Christopher Vance – Outstanding Spanish Student

Kurtis Dennison – Outstanding Writing Center Tutor

Jonathan Mitchell – First Year Writing Award

Andrew McCoy – Creative Writing Award

Department of Social Sciences

Tyler Hawkins – Outstanding Criminal Justice Graduate Student

Nicole Allison – Criminal Justice Achievement Award

Courtenay Bjorndahl – National Security and Intelligence Achievement Award and OSIX Certificate of Service

Sean Rafferty – Political Science Achievement Award

Raphael Snell – William and Dorthea Barnes Prize in History

Nicholas Romito – Vince Palmer Scholarship

Aimee Knight – Sgt. Todd May Memorial Scholarship 2014-2015

Cory Frasco – Sgt. Todd May Memorial Scholarship 2013-2014

Open Source Intelligence Exchange (OSIX)

Christian Dawson – OSIX Certificate of Service

Kiezin Wigger – OSIX Certificate of Service.

For more information about programs in the College of Liberal Arts, click here.