Dr. Greg Noone Named as Finalist for Professor of the Year

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

The Faculty Merit Foun­dation of West Virginia has named Dr. Gregory P. Noone of Fairmont State University as one of five finalists for the 2012 Profes­sor of the Year award. Each year the Foundation honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university.

“Fairmont State University is incredibly proud that Greg­ory Noone has been selected as one of the five finalists for West Virginia’s Professor of the Year for the second year in a row,” said FSU President Maria Rose.

“It is an honor to have a Fairmont State faculty member selected from such a distinguished pool of nominees, and we were thrilled that Dr. Noone was selected as the first runner-up for 2011 Pro­fessor of the Year. Dr. Noone is very deserving of this honor because of his outstanding mentoring of students, his exemplary teaching and his dedication to excellence at FSU.”

At FSU, Noone serves as Assistant Professor of Political Science and Law and Direc­tor of the National Security and Intelli­gence Pro­gram.

Other finalists are Daniel Holbrook, Associate Professor of His­tory at Marshall University; Gregory Juckett, Profes­sor of Family Medicine and Health Service Physician at West Virginia University; Bryan Raudenbush, Associ­ate Professor of Psychology at Wheeling Jesuit Univer­sity; and Kenneth H. Yount, Political Science and History Professor at Alderson-Bro­addus College. The five candidates will participate in interviews on Thursday, Jan. 24, 2013. The finalists will be honored at a March 2013 reception and banquet in Charleston, where the 2012 Professor of the Year will be announced.

Dr. Greg Noone is a Cap­tain in the U.S. Naval Re­serve and is the Command­ing Officer of the Defense Institute of International Legal Studies reserve unit and the former Command­ing Officer of the Navy JAG International and Opera­tional Law reserve unit. He was recently mobilized to become the Staff Judge Ad­vocate for the Department of Defense’s Office for the Administrative Review of the Detention of Enemy Combatants (OARDEC) at the U.S. Naval Base Guan­tanamo Bay, Cuba.

Noone is also a member of the Public International Law and Policy Group, which was nominated for the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize, and worked for the U.S. In­stitute of Peace (USIP), an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created by the U.S. Congress to promote research, education and training on the prevention, management and peaceful resolution of international conflicts. While at USIP, Noone received a Special Act Award for his work in Afghanistan.

Noone previously served as a judge advocate in the U.S. Navy. He held various positions in the Navy including the Head of the In­ternational Law Branch and the Foreign Military Rights Affairs Branch in the Navy Judge Advocate General’s (JAG) International and Operational Law Division at the Pentagon.

He also served at the Defense Institute of In­ternational Legal Studies (DHLS) where he trained senior military, governmental and non-governmental civilian personnel in over 35 countries (and has traveled to 75 countries total). Most notably, he has trained members of the Iraqi Na­tional Congress, the postgenocide government in Rwanda, the post-Taliban government in Afghanistan, civil society in the Sudan and senior members of the Russian government. He has recently traveled to Lib­ya to assist the new government regarding prosecuting the former regime. Noone also recently spent time in the Cote d’lvoire examining post-election violence and in Uganda assisting the government with potential prosecutions of the Lord’s Resistance Army. Noone was also an instructor at the Naval Justice School in Newport Rhode Island; an overseas Staff Judge Advocate in Souda Bay, Crete, Greece; and served at the Naval Legal Service Office in Norfolk, Va., as a government prosecutor and a criminal defense counsel where he was involved in over 200 courtmartials.

He is a Brockton, Mass., native who received a B.A. in Political Science from Villanova University, an M.A. in International Af­fairs from The Catholic University of America, a Masters in Defence Stud­ies (MDS) from the Royal Military College of Canada, a J.D. from Suffolk Univer­sity Law School and a Ph.D. in Political Science (International Relations) from West Virginia University.

Noone is a graduate of the Canadian Forces Col­lege’s Joint Reserve Com­mand and Staff Programme (JRCSP 12 / JPME 1). He has published and presented articles on the Rwandan Genocide, Transnational Corruption, the Interna­tional Criminal Court and Military Tribunals at numerous forums. He is the co-author of the forthcoming textbook: “International Law and Armed Conflict: Fundamental Principles and Contemporary Challenges in the Law of War” (Aspen/ Wolters/Kluwer Publishing 2013). Noone appears regularly as a commentator on international and national TV and radio.

Noone’s wife, Dr. Diana Noone, is the Chair of So­cial Sciences, an Associ­ate Professor of Criminal Justice and member of the graduate faculty at FSU.

The Faculty Merit Foun­dation of West Virginia provides a means to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among the faculties of West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities.

FSU has had two previous Professor of the Year award winners: Dr. Gregory T. Hinton in 1997 and Dr. Judy P. Byers in 2002.