Club Sports - Women's Rugby

Women's Rugby

Student Representative

Sarah Post         spost4@students.fairmontstate.edu      304-517-0779
Abigail Nester     anester1@students.fairmontstate.edu        304-703-8220
Victoria Harman  vharman@students.fairmontstate.edu        304-516-8835
Macy Miller          mmiller63@students.fairmontstate.edu      304-626-0376

Coach

Raymond Bezjak        rbezjak87@gmail.com            681-209-5781

Student Advisor

Gregory Noone          gregory.noone@fairmontstate.edu        304-367-4673

The Women's Rugby Team is a member of National Collegiate Rugby and participates in the Alegheny Rugby Union.  https://www.alleghenyrugbyunion.com/college  Teams compete in the D1, D2, and Small School pathways, along with sending teams to regional playoffs and all star events.  Fairmont State is proud to have 2 NSCRO (National Small College Rugby Organization All-Americans:  Stephanie Lambert 2017 and Cedar Sands 2020. 

Minimum requirements to participate:  currently enrolled in Fairmont State University for at least 6 credit hours, 2.0 or greater overall GPA, must have personal health insurance.

Date                      Team                                   Site                                       
September 18       IUP                                      away                                       
September 25       Cal U                                   home                                      
October 2             Gannon                                away                                      
October 9              Cal U                                   away                                       
October 16            Open                       
October 23            Championship
November 13         Regional Playoff's

“The Fairmont State University Women’s Rugby team had a very successful Fall 2019 season.  The team earned a regular season record of 12-3, finishing second overall in regular season play.  During the tournament (Allegheny Rugby Union Championship Tournament), the team placed 2nd losing only to Alderson Broaddus in the championship match scoring a total 106 points and holding their opponents to just 40.  The league consists of teams from Saint Vincent, Robert Morris, Clarion, Allegheny, AB, Marshall and Theil.  Through the help of their volunteer coaches – Raymond Bezjak and Larry Deese the team is now one of the top 3 best conditioned teams in the Allegheny Rugby Union.  The ladies have devoted significant time to conditioning and practices as well as a new dynamic warm-up routine to help decrease knee related injuries with the girls.  7 players were invited to the tryout for the All Star Allegheny Rugby Team.  Only 14 players from a pool of 10 schools were selected.  This season we are proud to announce that two women from our Fairmont State team were selected and will be traveling to St. Petersburg, Florida this weekend to compete in the NSCRO All Star Tournament.  Cedar Sands and Morgan Southern will be representing Fairmont State University and we wish them safe travels and a great game.  Another exciting note is that the team’s overall average GPA for the Fall 2019 semester was 3.38. Of the 15 women roster, two earned a 4.0, and ten earned 3.24 or higher. "