SciTech Mentoring

College of Science & Technology Peer Mentoring Program

 

Peer Mentor schedule – click here

Purpose: The College of Science & Technology Student Peer Mentoring program was first developed as a pilot program, funded by a 2012 Title III “Strengthening Institutions” grant from the U.S. Department of Education (http://www.fairmontstate.edu/academics/titleiiigrant).  Our mentoring program focus on the student as a whole which makes it distinct from other tutoring services available on campus.

Overview: College of Science and Technology Student Peer Mentors are assigned to work with faculty and students in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) courses.  Our Student Peer Mentors work directly with course instructors and the STEM Learning Coordinator to assist students in mastering course content and developing effective academic skills.  The emphasis is on collaboration; Student Peer Mentors, students and faculty are working to maximize learning.   Peer Mentors are also trained and knowledgeable to assist students with many other issues or questions they may have.  Some of these additional topics may include: scheduling classes, a specific major’s requirements, career options, adjustment to college, life skills development, or accessing other campus resources.

Future Plans: This is an evolving program that makes adjustments based upon the needs of the Science & Technology programs.

Meet our Peer Mentors

Name Room Courses Email
Allison Moore HHH-210 CHEM 1101, 1105, 2200, 2201, 2205 amoore57@students.fairmontstate.edu
Amanda Harper HHH-310 CHEM 1105, 2200, MATH 1400, 1407, 1430 aharper9@students.fairmontstate.edu
Sarah Starcovic HHH-210 BIOL 1105, 1106, CHEM 1105, 2200 sstarcovic@students.fairmontstate.edu
Garrett Devericks ET-101 MECH 1100 gdevericks1@students.fairmontstate.edu
Katie Coburn HHH-210 CHEM 1101, 1102, 1105, 2205 kcoburn4@students.fairmontstate.edu
Andrea Allman HHH-210 CHEM 1105 aallman5@students.fairmontstate.edu
Jack Johnston HHH-210 CHEM 1105, 2200 jjohnston7@students.fairmontstate.edu
Jonathan Benedum HHH-210 CHEM 1105 jbenedum3@students.fairmontstate.edu
Sarah Koontz HHH-310 BIO 1105, 1106 skoontz3@students.fairmontstate.edu
Kelsie Sandy HHH-310 MATH 1400, 1430 ksandy3@students.fairmontstate.edu
Jordyn Bowers HHH-310 BIOL 1105, 2203 jbowers15@students.fairmontstate.edu
Jessica Johnson HHH-310 BIOL 1105 jjohnson96@students.fairmontstate.edu
Logan Frame ET-101 Occupational Safety lframe1@students.fairmontstate.edu
Imani Frencheburton HHH-310 MATH 1400, BIOL 1101 ifrencheburton@students.fairmontstate.edu
Ashley Ruza HHH-210 CHEM 1105 aruza@students.fairmontstate.edu
Lindsey Laneve HHH-310 BIOL 1105, 1106 llaneve1@students.fairmontstate.edu