Intercollegiate Debate Team

Resolved that the United States Federal Government should adopt a policy to increase the protection of  human rights in one or more of the following nations:Tibet, Bhutan, Afganistan, Nepal, Myanmar, Thailand, East Timor, Indonesia, Phillipines, and /or Pakistan.

2005-2006 National Forensic Association
Lincoln Douglas Debate Topic



The Intercollegiate Debate Team is open to all full-time students in good academic standing at Fairmont State. All activities are under the directions of the Speech Communication faculty in the School of Fine Arts.

The team participates in Lincoln-Douglas debate using the National Forensics Association national debate topic. The team travels throughout the Eastern United States and attends 10-15 tournaments per academic year.

Tournament Schedule 2005 Academic Year

  • Bowling Green State Universiy, Bowling Green, OH
  • West Chester University, Philadelphia, PA
  • Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD
  • CFA Fall Tournament, Shepherd University, Shepherdstown, WV
  • The Madhatter, Bloomsburg State University, Bloomsburg, PA
  • Kellogg Community College, Battle Creek, MI
  • Webster College, St. Louis, MO
  • CFA Spring Tournament, Ocean City, MD
  • Novice Nationals, Berry College, GA
  • PKD Nationals, East Tennessee State, Garlinburg, TN
  • NFA Nationals, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, WS


Members of the 2005-2006 Intercollegiate Debate Team

Chirs Sharps, Team Captain
Shawn Wiley, Webmasater
Heather Musgrove, Secretary/Historian
Jennifer Cogar, Librarian
Jospeh Martinez
Christina Cottrill
Terry Meeks


Debaters for Fairmont State have consistently
qualified for the NFA National Tournament.



Contact Info

Dr. Aimee Richards
Room 310,  Wallman Hall
Phone: 304.367.4965

The Fairmont State chapter of Delta Sigma Rho-Tau Kappa Alpha recognizes outstanding debaters through membership in the local chapter.

Scholarships are available to qualifying students. Scholarships are open to incoming students and current students at Fairmont State.