Senate President Joe Riesen called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. in Room 303 in the Education, Health Career and Family and Consumer Sciences Building. The following members were present: Baur, M. Bond, S. Bond, Cable, Coleman, Freeman, Hansen, Kelley, Kirby, Kirk, Mazure, Moore, Poland, Reneau, Richardson, Savage, Scanlon, Shaver, Shields, White, Wilson, and Young. R. Harvey represented R. Schaupp

The May 10, 2005 minutes were corrected and approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Connie Moore encouraged members to call Speaker Kiss and Harold Michaels concerning SB 4019 which is still in committee. Sue Kelley noted that it was AFT's position that all faculty receive an across-the-board raise to meet the increase in the cost of living. President Bradley commented that he thought the \$900 salary increase would come through but there is still as question as to whether monies appropriated will be distributed across-the-board or based on merit. Moore noted that the annual increment pay (AEI--\$50/year of service) will be reintroduced during the regular session.

J. Riesen reminded the members beginning in January 2006 the Senate meetings will be held from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. as noted on the schedule distributed to members and on the Senate Forum.

Riesen announced that A. Baur will serve as the Webmaster for the Senate forum on WebCT/Vista. Bauer explained that the site serves as a place for committees to place minutes, agendas and discussion. He reminded the members that all discussions on the site are public and all FSU faculty members (except new faculty—to be added) have access to the forum.

OLD BUSINESS

- M. Scanlon moved to accept the report/assignments from the Committee on Committees. S. Bond seconded. Motion carried. Riesen announced committee replacements and noted that the Institutional Testing/Research Committee will be called the Institutional Review Board. He also noted that some standing committees will include C&TC Assembly members, and he will convene committees in need of chairs.
- R. Harvey moved to consider the D/F Policy and Transfer Grade Policy for a second reading. E. Savage seconded. Riesen noted that the C&TC assembly had rejected these policies and sent them to Admissions and Credits. Riesen will meet with Assembly President Sandra Woods to discuss joint meetings of the two Admissions and Credits Committees to examine this issue. M. Bond moved to table the motion. S. Kelley seconded. Motion carried.
- S. Bond moved to accept the report from the following committees: Curriculum, Faculty Harassment, and Admission and Credits. A. Baur seconded. Motion carried.
- A. Baur moved to examine the reorganization of the Advising Council. S. Shield seconded. The Faculty Welfare Committee recommended that the Advising Council be reorganized and

considered for status as a standing Senate committee. The recommendation suggests that the Senate appoint approximately 6 FSU representatives in addition to following appointments specifically named in the recommendation: C. Shields, R. Baker, and A. Schwer. C. Moore suggested that J. Riesen work with the Deans and Chairs to select the appropriate representation. M. Scanlon so moved. Cable seconded. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

G. Hanson moved to consider the request from Dr. Patterson for Senate recommendations for the Committee on Annual Faculty Evaluation (CAFE). C. Shields seconded. Erica Harvey explained that the Merit/Promotion and Tenure Committee recommended this committee be established to re-examine the current annual evaluation process and forms. Harvey explained that the current system does not create adequate distinction between faculty who are meritorious and those who are not. She noted that some departments do not use the IDEA form and the mean score for the scholarship category was 4. Harvey noted that this was not an effort to take away discipline-specific evaluation tools but to make the levels of merit more meaningful. She also noted that this committee needs to begin work quickly and asked the Senate quickly select and approve members. G. Hansen asked if this should be considered as an administrative task rather than a task for the Senate. Riesen noted that the Senate passed a policy last year requesting input on all campus committees that have faculty members on them. The following faculty were recommended for the committee: Jennifer Boggess (Fine Arts), Deb Hemler (Science and Math) and Tom Nicholas (Technology). Recommendations are being sought for members from Social Sciences and Education.

R. Harvey moved that the Senate endorse CAFÉ as an ad hoc committee. P. Reneau seconded. Motion carried.

C. Moore moved to approve the draft policy on the use of Annual Merit Evaluation in awarding raises for one year. A. Baur seconded. Motion carried.

Before the vote on the draft policy, E. Harvey explained that the policy is really only for this academic year and expires afterwards. A. Baur asked Dan Bradley whether we have even money for raises. Bradley said that he has a 4% pool available but that he needs to talk to the Deans and Chairs first to discuss equity issues before a firm number can be obtained.

R. Harvey moved to approve the first reading of the Draft Policy on the use of Annual Merit Evaluation in Promotion and Tenure Decisions. J. Poland seconded. Motion carried. Before the vote E. Harvey strongly suggested to move on this draft policy and approve it first reading. Senators were asked to bring this information back to their colleagues and examine it closely.

Meeting adjourned 1:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Francene Kirk, Faculty Senate Secretary