Events

Monday, February 11, 2013

Under the direction of Grant Cooper, Artistic Director and Conductor, the West Virginia Symphony Orchestra will perform at Fairmont State University on Thursday, Feb. 28.

Containing works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Anton Bruckner, the program will feature pianist Alexandre Moutouzkine. The program will include Mozart’s “Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467” and Bruckner’s “Symphony No. 8 in C minor.”

Friday, February 08, 2013

Fiction writer Cary Holladay has been named the 2013 Artist-in-Residence at Fairmont State University.

Thursday, February 07, 2013

For the sixth consecutive year, the Fairmont State University ceramics studio through the School of Fine Arts has hosted students, faculty, staff and alumni to participate in the Empty Bowls Project, which is an international grassroots, craft-based effort to end hunger.

Thursday, January 31, 2013

The Fairmont State University Acrobatics and Tumbling team is ready to hit the mat for its third season competing in the National Collegiate Acrobatics and Tumbling Association (NCATA). The NCATA is comprised of Azusa Pacific University, Baylor University, Fairmont State, Quinnipiac University and the University of Oregon. 

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Fairmont State University Accounting students are providing free income tax preparation assistance in three counties and receiving real-life experience to benefit them in their future careers.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College students have the opportunity to attend the Student Organizations Fair from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 22, in Gym 1 of the Falcon Center.

Monday, January 14, 2013

The Outdoor Recreation Leadership program, Outdoor Adventure Club and Wisp Resort are collaborating to provide students at Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College an opportunity to learn how to downhill ski or snowboard.

Friday, January 11, 2013

The Gaston Caperton Center in Clarksburg will be one of 23 locations throughout the state to host the annual College Goal SundaySM event on Sunday, Feb. 10, presented by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission.

Students and parents can receive assistance completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) during the free workshops.

Wednesday, January 09, 2013

The Office of International Student Services will host a Welcome Reception for International Students attending Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College on Thursday, Jan. 17.

The event will take place from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in the Falcon Center third floor conference rooms. Admission is free and open to the public. Refreshments will be provided.

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

All Fairmont State University offices will be closed Monday, Dec. 24, 2012, through Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2013, in observance of the holiday season.

Faculty will return for Professional Development Week on Monday through Friday, Jan. 7-11, 2013.

Classes begin for the spring 2013 semester on Monday, Jan. 14, 2013.