FYE Passport Activity: The Science Behind Contact

Event Date: 
Tue, 10/17/2017 - 12:30pm - 1:30pm
Location: 
Library MMB

Carl Sagan's sci-fi classic has been selected as this year's Common Book. In this presentation, Dr Hemler will compare fiction with reality to answer some of these questions: What's the connection between WV and the book Contact? How do scientists currently search for extraterrestrials? How real is the science in this work of fiction? What did Hollywood "get wrong" when making the book into a movie?

Presented by: Dr. Deb Hemler, Professor of Geoscience

Contact: 
Office of Retention

Upcoming

Athletics

Wed, 11/29/2017 - 5:30pm
Wed, 11/29/2017 - 7:30pm
Sat, 12/02/2017 - 1:00pm
Sat, 12/02/2017 - 1:00pm

Faculty & Staff

Fri, 11/24/2017 (All day)
Mon, 12/25/2017 (All day)
Tue, 12/26/2017 (All day) - Fri, 12/29/2017 (All day)
Mon, 01/01/2018 (All day)

Falcon Center

Tue, 11/28/2017 - 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Thu, 11/30/2017 - 10:00pm - Fri, 12/01/2017 - 1:00am

School of Fine Arts

Wed, 11/29/2017 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 12/01/2017 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun, 12/03/2017 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Special Events

Tue, 02/06/2018 - 12:30pm - 1:30pm
Tue, 03/06/2018 - 12:30pm - 1:30pm
Tue, 04/03/2018 - 12:30pm - 1:30pm

Student Life

Tue, 11/28/2017 - 12:30pm - 1:30pm
Thu, 11/30/2017 - 8:00am - 4:00pm