Folk Cultural Series Event on Folk Arts

Event Date: 
Sun, 11/11/2012 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: 
Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center
Fee: 
No fee

Sponsored by the Gabor WV Folklife Center

Lecture presentation and exhibit,featuring University of Pennsylvania folklorist and Fairmont native,Dr. Joan Saverino, on "Embroidery as Inscription in the life of a Calabrian Immigrant Woman." This talk explores the intersection of needlework, personal narrative, gender, and artistic creativity from Calabria to Appalachia over the course of a century. A reception will follow. This is the first in a series of events highlighting the rich and diverse cultural heritage of West Virginia.

Celebration of Tradition through the Fiber Arts From Calabria to Appalachia

Contact: 
Judy P. Byers

Upcoming

Alumni

Sat, 10/25/2014 - 10:30am - 12:30pm
Sat, 10/25/2014 - 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Sat, 10/25/2014 - 2:00pm - 4:15pm
Sat, 10/25/2014 - 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Athletics

Sat, 10/25/2014 - 1:00pm
Sat, 10/25/2014 - 2:00pm
Tue, 10/28/2014 - 7:00pm

Faculty & Staff

Tue, 11/11/2014 - 12:00pm - 1:15pm
Thu, 11/27/2014 (All day)
Fri, 11/28/2014 (All day)
Wed, 12/24/2014 (All day)

Falcon Center

Mon, 10/27/2014 - 12:00pm - 12:30pm
Mon, 10/27/2014 - 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Mon, 10/27/2014 - 4:15pm - 5:15pm
Mon, 10/27/2014 - 5:30pm - 6:30pm

School of Fine Arts

Thu, 10/30/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/31/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Sat, 11/01/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun, 11/02/2014 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Special Events

Thu, 10/30/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Tue, 05/05/2015 - 8:00am - 10:00pm

Student Life

Mon, 10/27/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm
Tue, 10/28/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm
Tue, 10/28/2014 - 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 10/29/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm