Folk Cultural Series Event on Folk Arts

Event Date: 
Sun, 11/11/2012 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: 
Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center
Fee: 
No fee

Sponsored by the Gabor WV Folklife Center

Lecture presentation and exhibit,featuring University of Pennsylvania folklorist and Fairmont native,Dr. Joan Saverino, on "Embroidery as Inscription in the life of a Calabrian Immigrant Woman." This talk explores the intersection of needlework, personal narrative, gender, and artistic creativity from Calabria to Appalachia over the course of a century. A reception will follow. This is the first in a series of events highlighting the rich and diverse cultural heritage of West Virginia.

Celebration of Tradition through the Fiber Arts From Calabria to Appalachia

Contact: 
Judy P. Byers

Upcoming

Alumni

Sat, 09/20/2014 - 3:30pm - 9:00pm
Mon, 10/20/2014 - 8:30am - Sat, 10/25/2014 - 9:00pm
Wed, 10/22/2014 - 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Thu, 10/23/2014 - 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Athletics

Tue, 09/16/2014 - 7:00pm
Wed, 09/17/2014 - 4:00pm
Fri, 09/19/2014 - 5:00pm
Sat, 09/20/2014 - 1:00pm

College of Liberal Arts

Thu, 09/18/2014 - 9:30am - 11:00am

Faculty & Staff

Thu, 11/27/2014 (All day)
Fri, 11/28/2014 (All day)
Wed, 12/24/2014 (All day)
Thu, 12/25/2014 (All day)

Falcon Center

Tue, 09/16/2014 - 12:00pm - 12:30pm
Tue, 09/16/2014 - 4:15pm - 5:15pm
Tue, 09/16/2014 - 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Tue, 09/16/2014 - 7:30pm

School of Fine Arts

Fri, 09/19/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 09/26/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun, 09/28/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Sun, 10/05/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Special Events

Thu, 09/18/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri, 09/19/2014 - 3:30pm - Sun, 09/21/2014 - 11:00am

Student Life

Tue, 09/16/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm
Wed, 09/17/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm
Thu, 09/18/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm