Folk Cultural Series Event on Folk Arts

Event Date: 
Sun, 11/11/2012 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: 
Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center
Fee: 
No fee

Sponsored by the Gabor WV Folklife Center

Lecture presentation and exhibit,featuring University of Pennsylvania folklorist and Fairmont native,Dr. Joan Saverino, on "Embroidery as Inscription in the life of a Calabrian Immigrant Woman." This talk explores the intersection of needlework, personal narrative, gender, and artistic creativity from Calabria to Appalachia over the course of a century. A reception will follow. This is the first in a series of events highlighting the rich and diverse cultural heritage of West Virginia.

Celebration of Tradition through the Fiber Arts From Calabria to Appalachia

Contact: 
Judy P. Byers

Upcoming

Alumni

Mon, 10/20/2014 - 8:30am - Sat, 10/25/2014 - 9:00pm
Wed, 10/22/2014 - 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Thu, 10/23/2014 - 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Thu, 10/23/2014 - 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Athletics

Wed, 10/01/2014 - 4:00pm
Fri, 10/03/2014 - 7:00pm
Fri, 10/03/2014 - 7:00pm
Sat, 10/04/2014 - 1:00pm

College of Liberal Arts

Wed, 10/01/2014 - 1:00pm

Faculty & Staff

Tue, 10/14/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm
Tue, 11/11/2014 - 12:00pm - 1:15pm
Thu, 11/27/2014 (All day)
Fri, 11/28/2014 (All day)

Falcon Center

Wed, 10/01/2014 - 12:00pm - 12:30pm
Wed, 10/01/2014 - 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Wed, 10/01/2014 - 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Wed, 10/01/2014 - 4:30pm - 6:30pm

School of Fine Arts

Sun, 10/05/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Thu, 10/16/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 10/17/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm

Special Events

Thu, 10/30/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Thu, 11/13/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Tue, 05/05/2015 - 8:00am - 10:00pm

Student Life

Wed, 10/01/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm
Thu, 10/02/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm
Fri, 10/03/2014 - 9:00am - 9:45pm