Folk Cultural Series Event on Folk Arts

Event Date: 
Sun, 11/11/2012 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: 
Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center
Fee: 
No fee

Sponsored by the Gabor WV Folklife Center

Lecture presentation and exhibit,featuring University of Pennsylvania folklorist and Fairmont native,Dr. Joan Saverino, on "Embroidery as Inscription in the life of a Calabrian Immigrant Woman." This talk explores the intersection of needlework, personal narrative, gender, and artistic creativity from Calabria to Appalachia over the course of a century. A reception will follow. This is the first in a series of events highlighting the rich and diverse cultural heritage of West Virginia.

Celebration of Tradition through the Fiber Arts From Calabria to Appalachia

Contact: 
Judy P. Byers

Upcoming

Alumni

Fri, 08/01/2014 - 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sun, 08/24/2014 - 1:30pm - 4:00pm
Fri, 09/05/2014 - 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sat, 09/20/2014 - 3:30pm - 9:00pm

Faculty & Staff

Mon, 09/01/2014 (All day)
Thu, 11/27/2014 (All day)
Fri, 11/28/2014 (All day)
Wed, 12/24/2014 (All day)

Special Events

Thu, 09/18/2014 - 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Student Life

Fri, 08/29/2014 - 4:00pm - 7:00pm