Folk Cultural Series Event on Folk Arts

Event Date: 
Sun, 11/11/2012 - 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: 
Frank and Jane Gabor West Virginia Folklife Center
Fee: 
No fee

Sponsored by the Gabor WV Folklife Center

Lecture presentation and exhibit,featuring University of Pennsylvania folklorist and Fairmont native,Dr. Joan Saverino, on "Embroidery as Inscription in the life of a Calabrian Immigrant Woman." This talk explores the intersection of needlework, personal narrative, gender, and artistic creativity from Calabria to Appalachia over the course of a century. A reception will follow. This is the first in a series of events highlighting the rich and diverse cultural heritage of West Virginia.

Celebration of Tradition through the Fiber Arts From Calabria to Appalachia

Contact: 
Judy P. Byers

Upcoming

Athletics

Sat, 11/22/2014 - 2:00pm
Sat, 11/22/2014 - 4:00pm
Mon, 11/24/2014 - 5:30pm

Faculty & Staff

Thu, 11/27/2014 (All day)
Fri, 11/28/2014 (All day)
Wed, 12/24/2014 (All day)
Thu, 12/25/2014 (All day)

Falcon Center

Mon, 11/24/2014 - 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Mon, 11/24/2014 - 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Mon, 11/24/2014 - 7:15pm - 8:15pm
Tue, 11/25/2014 - 4:15pm - 5:15pm

School of Fine Arts

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Sun, 11/23/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Mon, 12/01/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Fri, 12/05/2014 - 7:30pm - 9:30pm

Special Events

Tue, 05/05/2015 - 8:00am - 10:00pm

Student Life

Mon, 11/24/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm
Tue, 11/25/2014 - 12:30pm - 1:15pm
Tue, 11/25/2014 - 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Wed, 11/26/2014 - 3:15pm - 4:00pm